Flipbook Project

The animator I chose was the legendary Ub Iwerks, assistant to Disney and creator of the “Flip the Frog” shorts. Among the works of his, I studied “Soda Squirt” (1933), “Funny Face” (1933), “Fiddlesticks” (1930), “Hell’s Fire” (1934), and “Spooks” (1932), and took notes on each. I noticed how the arm and leg movements were very fluid, and the characters appeared to flop their arms around as if they had no elbows, and decided to incorporate it into my own design. Large eyes and unrealistic human motions, such as solid parts wiggling and eyes popping out of their sockets were also some sources that I took note of in my animation. I made my character’s movements smooth by placing the previous frame underneath the current frame on the Light Tracer, and slightly moving the character’s body part accordingly to where he would move next in a short time frame, rather than him just having his legs pop up in a new location in the next frame. Additionally, I decided to keep his hands as round balls instead of adding fingers, as many characters in the early era wore gloves and fingers would prove difficult to keep proportional and fluid. However, my character’s feet were difficult to move due to them bending as he took steps and their perspective being changed as they went from in front to in back. The most challenging task I faced was in the first animation, as I did not account on which hand my character would use to open the door, so he ended up opening the door from a difficult to animate and awkward angle, using his left hand to open something clearly meant to be opened with his right. I believe the vase that the character reacted to in the first one seemed rather lacking in detail, as there are many objects with the same shape, as well as other features such as designs that vases typically have needing to be sacrificed for facial features in the way. Early cartoons had objects and characters do hilarious things with their body, such as running away from something, but their eyes and mouth stay floating in the air off of their face. I made my character’s legs become gelatinous in shape, as well as made his eyes bulge out to show the true detail he was looking at. In the second one, I added more detail to the character, such as more hair and pants pockets, and made him walk about more naturally. I also felt that an easier image to recognize would be one that had it’s name on it, so I substituted the vase for a condom wrapper. In sum, I feel like I corrected many of the flaws the first one had with the second flip book.

This entry was posted in Time Based, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

