Field Drawing Final – 4 Day Challenge

To culminate the skills I’ve developed over the past semester in the Field Drawing course, I chose to do a series of “art dares”, courtesy of “https://artprof.org/courses/”.  The activities listed on the website proved useful in giving me structure for creating works, as well as structure in making a daily schedule for producing content. Due to the daily nature of the task, I imposed a time limit on myself, going as low as one hour to as high as four hours.

 

The first prompt involved visualizing a recipe from a New York Times cooking section, and thus, I took action. This proved useful in capturing textures and details that I’ve never attempted before. The dish I chose was an Indian dish that I was not dissimilar to food I grew up eating, despite me being of a different culture. The earthy ingredients were rustic, yet juicy, and and so capturing that detail in my time frame became the objective.

Recipe

The following prompt was a comic strip, describing a memorable birthday. Now, I’ve had many a bad birthday, but I chose one with a main conflict that was short and sweet, my 13th birthday. Taking influence from the Fleischers, as well as Filmation, I designed the characters to be jubilant and sharp. Birthday1Birthday2

Next was Metropolitan Diary, taking an article from the New York Times’ Metropolitan Diary and illustrating the story in one’s own perspective. The story here is that of a woman on a date who spots a group of men in T-shirts with letters on them. The men indulge to her that the letters form a wedding proposal for their friend to his love.

day3

The final day consisted of designing a bicycle for dogs. Seeing as I’ve never owned a dog, I took to doing research to see what things they might want on a bike if they ever had the ability to express it. I took into account a few basics to make the ride more comfortable. A bowl for water in lieu of a basket, a holder for the pooper scooper in lieu of a water bottle, and a more comfortable seat. Since dogs lack opposable thumbs to push brakes, I instead implemented it to the back so that the tail can hit it. Dogs wag their tail when happy, and the primary excitement when on a bike comes from the speed. The faster the bike would go, the more frequently would the brakes be hit, serving as a sort of speed cap. The dog’s own nature prevents the speed from getting too out of control.

bike

This entry was posted in Non Time Based and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment